Communities in San Diego County Regions

San Diego County is the southwestern-most county in the state of California. It is bordered on the north and east by Riverside and Imperial counties, respectively as well as a small corner of Orange County that touches its northwest corner. To the south is Mexico and to the west is the Pacific Ocean. The county is commonly divided into several distinct regions with separate coastal and inland sections. The coastal regions are more densely populated and cover a narrower geographic area while the inland regions are broader.

Select a region to see profiles of the communities within.

  1. North County Inland
    Northern Inland San Diego County includes roughly the northern two-thirds of the county east of and including Escondido, Bonsall, San Marcos, and Ramona.
  2. East County Inland
    Southern Inland San Diego County east of the city of San Diego.
  3. South Bay
    Coastal San Diego County south of the city, including Chula Vista, Bonita, and Imperial Beach.
  4. Central San Diego
    Central San Diego includes communities in the heart of San Diego.
  5. San Diego Coastal
    Coastal San Diego, from downtown, north to LaJolla
  6. North County Coastal
    Coastal communities north of the city of San Diego, including Oceanside, Encinitas, and Cardiff by the Sea.